FAOSS Awardees

The faculty of arts and social sciences was recognized during the performance and contracting awards through its various departments and the staff who work under it. This recognition was made to both teaching and non-teaching staff who have been exemplary in their performances.

The awardees from the faculty based on performance appraisal were; Mr Edward Odongo Awuonda from the Department of Journalism and Mass Communication, Ms Stacey Maghuwa Mwamburi from the Dean’s Office, Ms Catherine Mbinya Mbai and Dr. Dorothy Njiraine, from the Department of Library and Information Science, Prof. Tabitha Kiriti-Ng’ang’a, Dr. Martin Oleche and Dr. Moses Muriithi from the Department of Economics and Development Studies. 

Mr Kimingichi Wabende Lecturer, Department of Literature was given a special recognition award for demonstrating the core values of Commitment and Care through connecting and responding to the needs of others.

Among the categories of awardees was the long service awards and the longest awardee has worked with the university for 46 years.

As Mr Brian Ouma, Chief Operations Officer offered his laudatory remarks, he said, “I wish to sincerely congratulate all who’s excellent performance and longevity of service we recognize today. You are our pride and joy. I am proud to be associated with you as shining examples worth emulation,” he then added, “Well done! To those who are not in the roll of winners today, I am sure that you will raise your game and be in next year’s roll. As this is not a zero-sum game where some must lose for others to win, nothing is easier to say than “we are all winners!”.”

In his speech, the vice chancellor, Prof. Stephen Kiama appreciated the awardees and reminded them saying “the big agenda of transforming the University to a sustainable and vibrant university, will  only be successful if every member of staff , at whatever level, buys in  and interconnects  into the life of the university to focus all their efforts towards the same course.”

After the awarding ceremony, the awardees had a photo session with the Vice Chancellor, Prof. Stephen Kiama, COO, Mr Brian Ouma, Deputy Vice Chancellor Academic Affairs, Prof. Julius Ogeng’o and the Associate Deputy Vice Chancellor, Prof. Margaret Hutchinson who was also in attendance.